After EU, African Union becomes the second regional bloc to join G20

At the inaugural session of the two-day G-20 Summit in New Delhi, PM Narendra Modi welcomed the 55-nation AU as the new member of the grouping. Welcoming the African Union’s Chairperson Azaly Assoumani to the table of the G-20 leaders, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the inclusion of the African bloc will enhance the effectiveness of the G-20.

“Honoured to welcome the African Union as a permanent member of the G-20. This will strengthen the G-20 and also strengthen the the voice of the Global South,” said Prime Minister Modi in his inaugural remarks. Chairperson of the AU, Azaly Assoumani was led to the designated chair of African Union by External Affairs Minister Dr. S. Jaishankar and Prime Minister Modi.

After the EU, African Union is the second regional bloc to join the G20.

India’s move of including the African Union as a member of G20 can have long-term diplomatic advantages for India. AU represents 55 countries and constitutes a formidable group at the multilateral foras.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *